Welcome the Austin Aztex

I have been meaning to blog about this for a while but just have not been able to find the time…

Please join me in welcoming the Austin Aztex to Austin. The Aztex will start play in 2009. However, they will be holding tryouts for their U23 team soon. I am very excited about the prospect of professional soccer in Austin. It should be a great fit for the city. Although I’m not completely jazzed about the name (were there Aztecs anywhere close to Austin…no.) the thought of being able to attend some professional games in the future is wonderful. Just think we may get to see some of the “big boys” down here in the hill country come US Open Cup time!

I have been in touch with the owner of the team and he is going to keep me in the loop with any upcoming press releases. Check AustinSoccer.com for more information in the future.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment